Board of Directors Election

Color image of a person casting a ballot at a polling station, during elections.
Annual Meeting of the Members will be held virtually  Tuesday, May 11, 2021 @ 6 p.m.

Mark Your Calendars for May 11, 2021

Virtual Annual Meeting of the Members & Directors Election

Becoming a director is a big commitment. The board of directors has a responsibility to ensure the legal rights of the cooperative, act in the best interest of the cooperative and membership, plan for the future of the cooperative, assure the availability of resources including finances and power, and monitor the overall health of the cooperative.

Two seats are up for election this year: one in District 2 and one in District 4. As a cooperative, your board of directors is elected from the membership, by the membership.

  • District 2 includes all Idaho areas West of State highway 81, excluding Owyhee County, Idaho
  • District 4 includes all Nevada areas, not contained in District 3, including Jackpot, Jarbidge, Mountain City, and any areas in Owyhee County, Idaho not contained in the Duck Valley Reservation

Map of district boundaries


The COVID-19 pandemic has not affected the level of service that we provide to our members, but it has changed the way we are able to provide some of those services; including being able to host the 2021 Annual Meeting in person as we had originally hoped for.

Besides voting, we want members to be able to engage with and learn about the co-op. Using the virtual platform, we’ll be able to show you things that we typically don’t have time for during the in-person meeting, such as pictures, graphics and videos. We are also planning on holding a Q&A session this year. If you have questions that you would like to be addressed or something you would like to learn more about during the virtual broadcast on May 11, please submit those questions via email to ahead of time.


Use the ballot and return envelope that will be mailed as a direct-mail packet in early April. For your vote to count, your ballot must be received by the Election Committee no later than 7 p.m. Monday, May 10, 2021. Please mail early to ensure delivery by this date.


The Election Committee will distribute and collect ballots Monday, May 10, from 1 to 7 p.m. in the Raft River Electric boardroom located at 155 N Main, Malta, ID  83342.


If you prefer not to vote by mail or in person, you can vote by proxy. If you choose this method, you must contact Raft River Electric to obtain a proxy form. This must be done prior to May 10.

Regardless of how you choose to vote, only one vote per membership is allowed.

*All voters in the 2021 election will be entered into a random drawing for several prizes, including the Grand Prize of an $800 energy credit.

Meet the Candidates

District 2: Gary Jones (Incumbent), Nolan Branch, Sherrie Erickson

Read Gary’s bio (PDF)

Nolan Branch

Read Nolan’s bio (PDF)

Read Sherrie’s bio (PDF)

District 4: Krinn McCoy (Incumbent) running unopposed

Read Krinn’s bio (PDF)

Candidate bios are shown as written and submitted by the candidates.